Books, Features, Reading, Updates
Comments 14

The round up // July 2016

It’s Sunday July 31st here in Australia, which means that tomorrow is AUGUST. I don’t know about you, but I swear I was only just sitting around unwrapping Christmas presents a few weeks ago and now it’s only about 145 days or something (depending on where you are in the world) until I’ll be sitting around unwrapping Christmas presents. Ugh, but yay.

I had a pretty nice July as far as Julys go. Since I don’t have the internet at home yet (which is a whole other disastrous and possibly expensive story) I took this study period off so I had no uni assessments and it was the best. I got my marks back from my last two units and got High Distinctions for both. I want to take some time to brag about this because I was stupidly busy at work last study period + moving house + generally stressing about everything when I did these two classes (and two classes is basically the equivalent of full-time study), and I still managed to do really well – I’m pretty proud of that. So I’ve been taking it easy this month and it’s been the best. Some reading things  from July:

  • I read another 186 pages of War and Peace (which I’ve been reading since January) and it was a good time. I still ♥ Pierre forever.Slightly foxed
  • I subscribed to my very first literary magazine, Slightly Foxed, and it was really the most delightful thing I’ve read. There was an excellent article in there about Gulliver’s Travels that has me really excited to read the book – which I’ve never read; but I know the story so well (or do I? according to the Slightly Foxed article) that I feel like I’ve read it. And look how lovely Slightly Foxed looks with my new fox cardigan I picked up.
  • Also, the longlist for the Man Book Prize was announced a few days ago and the frontrunner for My Favourite Book of 2016, The North Water by Ian McGuire, was named with a bunch of books I haven’t heard of (you can see the list here). To get a bit braggy again, I predicted in my review of The North Water all the way back in January, that it’d pop up on a few awards lists and I WAS RIGHT. Seriously, you need to read this book (but not if you have a weak stomach).

TheCityofMirrorsThe 24 in 48 Readathon (which I wrote about here) also happened this month, and I took 18 hours to read Justin Cronin’s The Passage (draggier than I remembered) and half of its sequel, The Twelve (I keep saying this was better than I remembered, but after reading my completely gushing review of it I’ve realised that my memory just ain’t what it used to be). I proceeded to finish The Twelve and I’m now reading the final book in the series, The City of Mirrors, that I got for my birthday last month and which is currently doing all kinds of things to me.

August is going to be another quiet month which is good. I’ve got The City of Mirrors to finish (even though I kind of don’t want it all to be over), then I’ll be reading Rush Oh! by Shirley Barrett, maybe some more War and Peace, and a NetGalley ARC called The Gentleman by Forrest Leo, which is about a guy who does a deal with the devil. The devil is probably my favourite bad guy ever (especially this tv version of him), so I’m really excited to read this.

Did you read anything good in July? Any big plans for August?

14 Comments

  1. High Distinctions, that’s amazing! I don’t fully understand how that translates into American grades, but it sounds super impressive. WELL DONE YOU.

    I am embarrassed by how few of the Man Booker Prize longlist titles I’ve read or even heard of. Gotta get that fixed!

    Like

    • I guess if we thought about it in terms of alphabetical grades, you’d call it an ‘A’. A high distinction is the highest grade most of tertiary institutions give, so it’s definitely a good mark!

      Don’t be embarrassed! I’ve rarely ever heard of the books on the Booker list. I’ve been more “in the know” in recent years (mostly thanks to fellow book bloggers), but I usually only have a clue after they’ve been short listed or they’ve actually won.

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you took some time off this month! Also, doing so well in your courses with everything else you had going on IS a huge accomplishment! Brag away. 😉

    I’m sorry that Cronin’s first two weren’t as good the second time around, but it sounds like it was worth rereading them for preparing you for Mirrors. Would you still recommend the series?

    Where in the world did you get that adorable fox cardigan?! I need one in my life.

    Like

  3. I read more leisurely in June and was focusing on research for my cat/author book in July. I did read a Josephine Tey, new to me and I liked her mystery style. Her detective Grant takes on the case of whether Richard III was as horrid as Shakespeare makes him to be. Interesting and enlightening.

    Like

  4. You’re in for a treat with Rush Oh! (But quite a contrast to your other favourite whaling story, The North Water).

    Like

    • I’m really excited for it – and as much as I loved The North Water, I’m glad this one will be a contrasting book. I don’t think I could go to those dark places again!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I move into my college dorm at the very end of August to begin my sophomore year, so I’ve got a lot to do between now and then haha 🙂 Glad that you had a great July!

    Like

  6. Sarah's Book Shelves says

    I’m impressed you’re reading War & Peace…I know it’s a classic, but I’ve never read it and I can’t really see myself doing it at this point. Too many other things out there!

    Like

    • It’s a good one to chip away at gradually – things move so slowly that you can put it down for a month and have no problem getting back into the story when you pick it up again. It is time consuming, but definitely worth the read!

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

