Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 11

Teaser Tuesday // Cat’s Eye

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jen at Books and A Beat. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

catseyeThis time last week I started my very first Margaret Atwood book and early on I was pretty disappointed in it. So disappointed, in fact, that I almost invoked my new “30% rule”; the 30% mark in the book being the point at which I give up on it and mark it “Abandoned” on Goodreads. It was tough going and I was close to hating it.

But at some point before I hit 30% – I’m not sure when – I became completely engrossed in the book and pretty much didn’t want to put it down. I’m now quite amazed that I was going to give up on it and I’m really glad I didn’t. Here are some sentences:

“I see that there will be no end to imperfection, or to doing things the wrong way. Even if you grow up, no matter how hard you scrub, whatever you do, there will always be some other stain or spot on your face or stupid act, somebody frowning.”

What are you reading this week?

11 Comments

  1. I was *not* so crazy about Atwood’s latest, The Heart Goes Last, but I read The Handmaid’s Tale and really enjoyed it. I’d be willing to give her another shot, but oh, those teaser sentences hit a little *too* close to home for me. I don’t need anyone else reminding me of past shameful/embarrassing moments! 😛

    Like

    • Yeah I don’t think anyone ever needs those kinds of reminders. But it’s weird how we remember things as we get older – or we don’t remember them, as the case is with this book. It’s really memory and past focused, which I loved. It wasn’t at all what I was expecting in the end. I’d give it a go if I were you 🙂

      Like

    • I’m really pleased it worked out in the end. It was a really thought provoking book – largely because of how awful the little girls were in the book and how much it’s still like that.

      I’m definitely encouraged to read more Atwood – I think I should make The Handmaid’s Tale my next one. Do you have any others you’d recommend?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah's Book Shelves says

    Haha! Glad this one worked out for you…I feel like that’s rare for me. If a book is not working at 30%, it’s really rare that it will work for me overall. I love the quote you shared!

    Like

    • I’ve got post it flags hanging out of the book all over the place – so many good quotes. Margaret Atwood sure knows how to write a quotable sentence.

      I was surprised that it hooked me in the end too – I even had another book lined up ready to go. But I think maybe just past the 20% point something happened.

      Like

    • I think it’s one that would resonate more with age. Or, maybe not more so much as resonate differently, depending on where you’re at in your life. It would be interesting to read it again in twenty years time!

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

