Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 2

Teaser Tuesday // In the Month of the Midnight Sun

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jen at Books and A Beat. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

25766707I thought I’d jump back into Teaser Tuesday this week with the book I received for the first month of my Bookabuy subscription. I was pretty excited to get this book written by Cecilia Ekbäck as she had another book (Wolf Winter) out a couple of years that piqued my interest, but that I’m yet to read.

Thus far I have mixed feelings about In the Month of the Midnight Sun. I like the plot; well, most of it anyway. The writing is really bothering me though. I won’t go into detail – I’ll save that for if I do a review – but I have a few problems, namely the different narrative voices (or lack thereof) and the use of loads of short sentences. Anyway, it’s good but not great; I’ll continue with it though because I’ve gone past the 30% mark  without flinging it away and there’s a mystery to be solved (I can’t not finish it if there’s a mystery to be solved). Here are some sentences:

“Morning comes to Luleå unannounced. The sky remained blue all night. At one point, the colour deepened, only to lighten again.”

What are you reading this week?

2 Comments

  1. I actually wanted to finally read The Nightingale. But now an ARC kind of got in the way 😛 but it’s okay. Might read We should all be feminists, too cause it’s short and I’m really looking forward to that one as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

