Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 8

Teaser Tuesday // ‘The Pigeon Tunnel’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jen at Books and A Beat. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

thepigeontunnelThis is my most anticipated book of 2016. I have literally been waiting nearly a whole year for it and I even waited a bit longer for my local bookstore to order in a hardcover for me, because I wanted it to be extra special (nothing says “extra special” like a hardcover). It arrived last week and I actually nearly maybe started crying on page 2 because I was so excited to be finally reading it and what I was reading was just everything I had hoped for.

Anyway, I’ll try and save some gushing for my review (which I’ll tell you now is going to be less review than gushiness) and share a couple of sentences from page 2. I know I’m meant to pick random sentences but I don’t even care. So here you go:

“The month is May, so we get a whole year’s weather in one week: yesterday a couple of feet of fresh snow and not a single skier to enjoy it; today an unobstructed scorching sun, and the snow nearly gone again and the spring flowers back in business. And now this evening, thunderclouds of Payne’s grey getting ready to march up the Lauterbrunnen valley like Napoleon’s Grande Armée.”

What are you reading this week?

8 Comments

  1. It’s so interesting that he authorised a biography written by someone else and then released this himself around the same time. According to the biographer, the accounts of events vary quite a bit in the two books which really highlights the difficulty of writing ‘the truth’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • John did mention that biography briefly in his own book. I have the biography but haven’t got around to reading it yet, but I’ll be interested to compare the stories.
      I wonder whether it’s more accurate to believe what’s written by the biographer who has researched and hopefully verified events with others; or the man who the events happened to.

      Like

  2. I’m reading The Spy Who Came in from the Cold; yes, you’ve inspired me to read the George Smiley books through your persistent promotion of Le Carre.

    Like

    • You’ve made me so happy. Are you liking it so far?
      I can highly recommend this memoir, if only because he himself has lived such an interesting life – it’s given a little more context to some of the books, particularly in terms of his inspiration for some characters (such as Alec Leamas).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m listening to this one narrated by the author. He narrates magnificently and his accents of various characters are spot on. That coupled with his way with words means this is a must read/ listen. Enjoy!

    Like

    • I listened to a sample of the audio yesterday and based on that I have to agree with you completely. I’ve decided I’m getting it to then read along with the book at a later date.
      I’m having such an excellent time reading this – I’m going to be quite sad when I’m done.

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

