Books, Little Reviews, Reading, Review
Comments 8

Little reviews // October 2016

I’ve got three little reviews this month – one a new release that I’ve been waiting for for a year, and two audiobooks that were spur of the moment downloads and were both fantastic. ALL OF THESE WERE FIVE STAR READS!! Can you believe that??

thepigeontunnelinstaThe Pigeon Tunnel: Stories from My Life

Author: John le Carré
Genre: Non-fiction (autobiography/memoir)
Release Date: September 8th, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★
[Goodreads]

I wanted to dedicate a whole post to this book, because it’s so special to me and it deserves it. But the reality is that a post of any great length would have just been a gush fest with very little substance to it. So a short post it is – being succinct is sometimes best with books we love.

Although this book falls best into the memoir category it isn’t really a memoir; as the title suggest it’s more like a collection of stories. Any fan of le Carré is guaranteed to enjoy this book. Not only are we given an insight into his writing process, but along the way we meet the inspiration and accidental real life counterparts of some of his most famous characters, including Alec Leamas (The Spy Who Came in from the Cold) and Jerry Westerby (whose main appearance was in The Honourable Schoolboy). It’s definitely more suited to those who’ve read a few of le Carré’s books as he makes references to many of his books that have more meaning with context. This really was everything I’d hoped for and will definitely be a treasured book in years to come.

barucormorantThe Traitor Baru Cormorant

Author: Seth Dickinson
Genre: Fantasy
Release Date: September 15th, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★
[Goodreads]

I listened to the audio of this and when I started I thought that 14 hours might be stretching the Heather/Audiobook friendship a bit. But halfway in I was completely in love with it and by the end I would have been happy for it to go for another 14 hours (but apparently there’s a sequel on the way so I guess I’ll settle for that).

It’s fantasy with political intrigue (think Game of Thrones but without dragons), loads of untrustworthy characters, blood, betrayal, A HUGE ENDING, and just a really excellent story in general. I can’t remember the last time I was genuinely surprised by a book, but this one had loads of unexpected moments and it was nice to be kept guessing. I thought the audio was quite good. I found the narrator a little annoying at first, but whatever it lacked the story more than made up for and by the end I didn’t mind the narrator. So it can’t have been that bad otherwise I would have listened to the whole thing. (I have to pass along my thanks to Julianne at Outlandish Lit for encouraging me to listen to this – you can read her review of it here.)

themothersThe Mothers

Author: Brit Bennett
Genre: Fiction (general)
Release Date: October 11th, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★
[Goodreads]

This book is absolutely everywhere at the moment and with very good reason. It’s giving the above book from Mr John le Carré a run for its money as my favourite new release of 2016 – which is kind of a big deal you guys, because I LOVE THAT GUY.

Anyway, I don’t think I have anything new to add to plethora of information out there about The Mothers, but I’ll reiterate what just about everyone has said – you have to read this. Or be like me and listen to the audio. It was absolutely fantastic. I found the narration easy to listen to and completely engaging (obviously this was helped by an excellent story), but not once did I get annoyed while listening. So if you’ve got a few Audible credits burning a hole in your pocket, I can highly recommend this.

8 Comments

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 New Releases of 2016 | Bits & Books

  2. Gotta celebrate three five star reviews 😀 I’ve only given five stars to three books this YEAR so I’m a bit envious!

    Like

    • To be honest I’m probably too kind to books – I have a 4.11 average rating on Goodreads, which is pretty high I think. But having said that, am I too kind or do I just read really excellent books?

      Like

  3. Wow, three five star reads?? I’m so impressed! Admittedly I am stingy with my five-star ratings, but I’ve only had I think two five-star reads all year, plus a handful of four-star reads that I suspect could get bumped up to five stars when I reread them/have more time to think about them. The Mothers, meanwhile, is on my bedside table and burning a hole in my pocket and other mixed metaphors. :p

    Like

    • You must read The Mothers (if you haven’t started already) – I feel like it’s essential 2016 reading. It’s so real and it hurts a bit, but it’s really beautiful too.

      I’m probably freer than I should be with my four and five star ratings, but having said that I did really love these three books, so I don’t question these particular ratings at all.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

