Bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts, Features, Updates
Comments 10

Bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts // 29 October, 2016

‘Bookish (and not so bookish) thoughts’ is hosted by Christine at Bookishly Boisterous – go say hi!

1. Wonder Woman in the U.N.: a great symbol of empowerment, but more power would be nice.

2. I’m now a Book Ninja and damn am I excited about it. Gotta start practicing my stealth mode.

3. Last year I participated in a postal Secret Santa run by The Broke and the Bookish. It was so much fun putting together a Christmas gift for a complete stranger. It’s happening again this year if anyone wants to jump on board.

4. There has been a huge load of science stuff that happened in the last few weeks that I’ve barely even read about, let alone shared with people. So today I want to make sure you all know that the FIRST EVER FOSSILISED DINOSAUR BRAIN HAS BEEN FOUND.

5. I’ve been spending the last few days putting together a most awesome playlist of songs for one of my best friends (music is probably my second love behind books even though I don’t have a musical bone in my body). I really pride myself on my playlists, and I spend hours putting them together, making sure all the songs flow together properly. But I never before knew about the “Crossfade Songs” option in iTunes. It’s changed my life and taken my playlist to a whole other level.

6. Speaking of music, if you haven’t watched ‘The Get Down‘ on Netflix yet, do yourself a favour and get to it. I was distracted by a bunch of other shows and so I missed it when it was first released, but then I watched all the episodes in a couple of days. The show is amazing, the acting is amazing, and the soundtrack….perfection.

7. Another Netflix party I’m just arriving at is ‘Bloodline‘. I heart Ben Mendelsohn in that so much.

8. Here’s a bunch of expiration dates for random things that aren’t food.

9. I went to a special screening of ‘Doctor Strange’ the other night (before the official release date – I felt really cool) and it was so excellent. The graphics were amazing and even though I’m not a fan of 3D films, this is one I’d recommend seeing in 3D because everything just looked amazing. Even though his American accent could use some work, Benedict Cumberbatch was the perfect Stephen Strange and I can’t imagine anyone else in the role. The film has some pretty dark themes, but there were enough funny moments to give it the usual Marvel film levity. I’ll be watching it again before its run finishes at the cinema.

10. Ok so I said earlier that music is probably my second love behind books (the rest of my top five loves are tv/film, food, and sleep) and something that I like to do every few months is go through the Shazam app on my phone to find all the little treasures I’ve tagged and then fill up my iTunes with some fresh music. A treasure I found this week is ‘Fate Don’t Know You’ by Desi Valentine, which was used in the most recent series of ‘Suits’. Below is a video of him singing it live, and you should also check out his cover of Adele’s ‘Hello’.

10 Comments

  1. Yes yes! The Get-Down! Thank you for reminding me. There have been a bunch of shows lately that I’ve been intending to try out, but end-of-year busy-ness seems to be kicking in earlier than expected this year. And I guess NaNoWriMo is probably not the time when I will be catching up on music either, hahahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’ll love The Get Down. It’s just perfect and relevant and I loved that it wasn’t . The next part of the season won’t be out until next year, so maybe NaNo is a blessing and you can put off all of The Get Down until the next part is released. I wish I’d done that because I just wanted more of it.
      Good luck with NaNo!!

      Like

  2. The broke and the bookish secret Santa looks so great. But also VERY expensive to take part in which I’d totally be on board with if I didn’t only read ebooks now.

    I thought the doctor strange trailer looked pretty bad but I’m hearing so many great things about it so I might have to check it out.

    Like

    • It can be as expensive or as cheap as you want it to be really. I think I spent maybe $30 on a couple of books and a bunch of goodies – you just work to whatever your budget is at the end of the day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Replace my hairbrush every six months?? The only things on that list that I replace roughly when they suggest are pillows and toothbrushes. I’m a bit disturbed at the implications of everything else!

    Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

