Books, Reading
Comments 5

Teaser Tuesday – ‘Shining: The Story of A Lucky Man’

ShiningCoverTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

I requested Shining: The Story of A Lucky Man a while back on NetGalley and then promptly forgot about it because it wasn’t downloaded via Kindle (like all my other NetGalley reads). With the current refugee situation in Europe it’s a very relevant read, and an important one in terms of putting a face to an at times faceless humanitarian crisis.

I started reading it this morning on the train and so far it’s pretty good. I’m hesitant to describe the book as ‘enjoyable’, even in these early of stages of reading, as it’s the biography of a Somalian refugee. What I will say is that I can see that Abdi Aden is a wonderful human being – even after only reading a couple of chapters. Now, the teaser sentences:

“I will be forced to leave my African life behind within a few years, and for my survival, I will rely on the lessons both my mother’s simple, get-things-done way of looking at life, and my father’s more poetical way of seeing things. Going from A to B by putting one foot in front of another – that’s from my mother, Aalima.”

What are you reading this week?

5 Comments

  1. I adore that he draws inspiration from two very different ways of looking at life. As an all-or-nothing thinker, I could learn something from Abdi Aden! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hah! Got a book in hand. From The English Air by DE Stevenson page 142. “When they reached the top, Roy paused and looked back. The sun had set but the spring twilight was very clear, the sky was lemon and palest green with a purple scarf of cloud low on the horizon,”

    Like

    • Oh that sounds so lovely and exactly the sort of book I’d like to read. That is a couple of beautifully written sentences. Were you reading something else by Stevenson a few weeks ago?

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

