Books, Reading
Comments 5

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Natural Way of Things’

TheNaturalWayofThingsTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

When I first started hearing about The Natural Way of Things, I remember thinking to myself, ‘I have to read this’. That was about six months ago and my need to read it had not diminished by the time the publication date rolled around. I entered about a million competitions to win a copy, but won none of them, and in an effort to curb my spending I decided to reserve a copy at my library for when it came in. I thought I’d be waiting a while for one to become available, but I got one nearly straight away. I picked it up yesterday and started reading straight away.

Three things have happened to me so far. One: I do not want to put this book down, and if I had the time I would sit and read it all day until I’d finished it. Two: I’m feeling a lot of sad-rage. And three: I’ve realised that while some things that happen to the women in this book might be a little extreme, in other ways what happens to them is exactly what happens in real life, and it is this that is inducing the sad-rage I’m feeling. So far this book is not for the faint of heart—but everyone should read it. Now, here are the teaser sentences:

“She was at the door by the time he shouted, ‘March!’ and as an afterthought sent the stick spinning to crash into the doorframe just beside her head. It clattered to the floor and she heard Boncer’s titter floating after her as she marched, arms swinging high, the little key sharp in her wrist.”

What are you reading this week?

5 Comments

    • You really should check it out. It’s easily in my top 5 new releases this year and I haven’t even finished reading it yet. Not only is the writing immaculate, but what it says is hugely important.

      Like

    • You really need to check this one out – I think it’s right up yours and Julianne’s alleys. But you will feel sad-rage and I think you guys would have a lot to say about the book itself and it’s content. It’s one of those books that I would classify as “Important to Read”.
      Definitely check it out on Goodreads.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here