Book Bingo, Books, Reading, Updates
Comments 16

Book Bingo!

As I was loitering around some other book blogs, I spotted this thing called ‘Book Bingo’ on Shaina’s blog, Shaina Reads (if you like intelligent books you should go check out her blog – you’ll feel smarter just being there). Anyway, Book Bingo was started over at Books On the Nightstand. It’s pretty simple: their generator creates a random bingo card with 25 squares that have different things to look out for when picking your next read (or reads) – the idea is to look for something you wouldn’t normally read. Here’s my bingo card:

BookBingo

So, just like with the “legs eleven” kind of bingo, each time you read a book that fits into one of these little categories, you mark it off. Now, I already have a gigantic stack of books which, despite reading a book a week, is not getting any smaller and is instead growing. So I’m sure I’ll find plenty of books in said stack to mark off some squares. But there’s some I know I won’t have – like a middle-grade book, popular psychology, and I’m pretty sure I haven’t recently bought any books set in South America (but really, I have no idea what I have anymore). And I don’t really read literary journals, so this might encourage me to look into that.

If anyone else is doing Book Bingo let me know – we can be bingo buddies! Also, if anyone has any suggestions for books to mark off some of these squares, please go right ahead and let me know – I’m game to read just about anything. I’ll post an update in a few weeks.

Do you ever look to read outside your comfort zone or do you have one type of book you love and just stick with it?

16 Comments

  1. Pingback: Another Book Bingo Update | bitsnbooks

  2. Pingback: A Book Bingo Update | bitsnbooks

  3. Aww, quit making me blush!

    So glad you’re joining in on this. 🙂 I love seeing everyone’s cards! I love the square for a book set in a place you want to visit. Do you know which country/place you’ll pick?

    Like

    • Um, I think either Antarctica or Norway. I have a book at home about Antarctica, but I feel like that’s cheating. So maybe I’ll look for something set in Norway. There’s a cool tall ship frozen into ice there, that’s been turned into a hotel. The only way to get there is by dog sled!! I think that’ll be my next overseas trip, although I don’t know how I feel about dog sled…

      Like

    • You should! I’m about to mark off my first square and I’m more excited about it than I have any right to be. I need to get out more.

      Like

  4. I wasn’t doing Book Bingo, but I am now!

    To answer your question, I routinely look for books outside my comfort zone. The only downside is that I have an ever expanding comfort zone. Wait, is that really a problem?

    I have a question of my own: can one book count for more than one square? For example, I have a book in my TBR I found in the “free” pile of a used bookstore written by and about a politician I do not agree with in the slightest. In theory, could I count that for “found in a used book store” and “about a subject that challenges you” ?

    As I’m almost done with my at-home TBR, Book Bingo will come in handy when I next go to the library. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hear you re: the comfort zone thing. I’m always trying to read new things. My theory is, if I don’t read it, how will I know if I don’t like it?
      I’m not too sure about whether a book can count for more than one square. There doesn’t seem to be any strict rules, so I guess you can do whatever you want. I would personally only count it for one square though, as that means it’ll take me that much longer to get to a bingo!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll have to go check out your bingo card. I think I’m just about able to cross one square off. Naturally I’m more excited about that than I should be.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here