Books, Features, Reading, Updates
Comments 22

#24in48 – January 16-17, 2016

I got super excited earlier this week when I received an email to alert me to the next #24in48 readathon. If you’ve been hanging around this blog for a while, you might remember I took part in this readathon last year and had a pretty great time. The basic idea is that you aim to read as much as you can in 24 hours over the course of the 48 hours of the weekend. Simple.

My final stats last year were:

  • 8 books read
  • A total of 1648 pages
  • For an average of 68.7 pages/hour

This year I’m going to be focusing less on the number of books read, and more on the number of pages. Ideally I’d like to make it to at least the 1700 page mark so that I make it past last years total. To do that, I’ve put together a list of books that includes one chunkster, and a few shorter/mid-length books; my plan of attack is to make sure that I switch up my reading so I don’t get bogged down in the chunkster. Right now I feel like I’m planning to run a marathon, which is hilarious because I never run anywhere. Anyway, here’s what I hope to read:

24in48books

The page count for each is:

  • Outlander – 864 pages
  • A God in Ruins – 384 pages
  • Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events214 pages 597 pages
  • The Maze Runner – 374 pages

That’s a total of 1836 2219 pages, which I think is completely not achievable but as long as I’m over the 1648 from last year, I’ll be happy. And they’re all books that I don’t think I’ll want to review, so if I lose focus while reading it’s no big deal.

I’ll be updating here every few hours so if you’re interested you should check back and see how coherent I still am. If you’ve got nothing better to do this weekend (let’s be honest, what could be better than this) then why don’t you join in? You can sign up here for a fun weekend of reading and eating all of the snacks.

Updates

Hour 6
I started the day with a bunch of croissants and a nice big coffee.

I started the day with a bunch of croissants and a nice big coffee.

Currently reading: Outlander (on page 78)
Number of pages read:
675
Reading pace: 112.5 pages/hour
Thoughts:
I started reading a little after 7am; the time is now 2:30pm. It turns out the Lemony Snicket book I thought was only 214 pages, was almost 600 pages (some inaccurate Goodreads curation there). Thankfully it was a really quick read and I had it done in a bit over 4 hours. It was quite fun and I especially enjoyed reading it with Jude Law’s voice narrating in my head. Fun times. Outlander is ok so far, but I can see it’s going to take forever to read, so I’ll definitely be changing it up soon with another book.

Hour 12

Currently reading: Outlander (on page 204), The Gospel of Loki (on page 159)
Number of pages read:
960
Reading pace: 80 pages/hour
Thoughts: 
Outlander has been a little slow to get started but it’s finally getting there and hopefully I’ll get it finished tomorrow (but it’s not likely to be honest). I was meant to be reading all my own books for the challenge, but I went rogue and picked up The Gospel of Loki from the library at the end of the week. I’m just about halfway through and I’m really enjoying it. It’s witty and fun, and a really interesting take on the history of the Norse gods. Thanks to Kirstie at Upside-Down Books for reminding me of this gem earlier in the week. Also, I’m totally ok with hot cross buns being available in January – they have been the highlight of my day.
It’s just before 10:30pm here now, so I’m going to crack on with The Gospel of Loki and hopefully finish it before I pass out, but it’s a pretty quick read so I think I’ll be ok.

Hour 18

Currently reading: Outlander (still on page 204 and will remain there for the foreseeable future); The Maze Runner (on page 237).
Number of pages read:
1339
Reading pace:
74.4 pages/hour
Thoughts:
So my big plan for last night was to finish The Gospel of Loki before I went to bed, but I started getting drowsy about 40 minutes later, so I gave up and went to sleep. I finished that book first thing this morning and I’ve come to the conclusion that I think I liked it, but maybe I’m not 100% sold on it. I don’t know. It had it’s good points and bad points.
After that I started reading The Maze Runner and I’m about ⅔ of the way through. It’s good, but I’m finding it a little slow to read, mostly because I keep comparing it to the movie, in which things moved a lot faster. That’ll teach me to watch the movie before the book.
My reading pace has slowed heaps, but the good news is I only have 361 pages to go until I hit my goal of 1700 pages read for the weekend.  That works out to a little over 60 pages/hour for the next 6 hours – it’s completely doable, especially with hot cross buns on my side.

Hour 24

Currently reading: Outlander (still on page 204, I’ll finish it in a few weeks I’m sure), A God in Ruins (on page 200).
Total number of pages read:
1674
Pages/hour: 69.75
Number of books finished:
Three – Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Gospel of Loki, and The Maze Runner.
Am I still alive? Yes. But I’m very high on sugar. Still functioning, however.
Final thoughts: My current thoughts on A God in Ruins is that it’s super slow to get into and I found it quite difficult to get into a rhythm while reading – I find the switching between timelines a bit too all over the place – but I’m persevering with it and falling a little bit more in love with Teddy (if you’ve read this book, you’ll likely get what I mean). Also, peppermint bark is maybe the best thing ever created.
I didn’t quite make it to the 1700 pages I was aiming for, but I go close. I did beat my total from the last 24in48 though, which is the main thing. All in all I would say it’s been a very successful readathon and I can now cross a couple more books of my Read My Own Damn Books List! More importantly, it’s not even 9pm here yet and since I’ve finished reading at a decent hour I can go watch some TV and get a good night’s sleep.

Did you participate in 24in48? How’d you go?

22 Comments

  1. Pingback: #24in48 – July 23-24, 2016 | Bits & Books

  2. Pingback: The round up // January 2016 | bitsnbooks

  3. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Collected Novellas of Stefan Zweig’ | bitsnbooks

    • I literally shut myself in my room and read in bed all weekend. I think I was a lot less social (on the blog/twitter) than I was meant to be, but I kind of got in the reading zone and forgot about the outside world. It was amazing.
      I think 500 pages is still a great effort – it’s basically the equivalent of a book (or multiple short ones), so you’re ahead of where you were before you started the challenge (I’m sorry if that doesn’t make sense).

      Like

      • It absolutely makes sense. Progress is progress. A step forward is still forward progress even if it is (just) a step.

        (Sorry for the rapid replies…WordPress sends notifications.)

        Liked by 1 person

    • I have every confidence in you! You should be proud – all of my books are my own, so that’s four I can cross of for #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks!! Honestly, you’ve started a proper movement.

      Like

    • To be honest, a literary trip kinda trumps a readathon, so I’m sure you’ll have a great weekend anyway – but hopefully you can join in the next one 🙂
      I’m pretty excited for the Maze Runner. I liked the film, but lots of people who’ve read the book didn’t like it, so it’ll be interesting to compare the two.

      Liked by 1 person

      • True! What I really wish is that the #24in48 was another weekend. 🙂 Next time, though!

        Yeah, I don’t know how I feel about it. I got pretty burnt out on the series by the end of it, but I enjoyed the first one. (Had some issues with his writing style, though.) I haven’t seen the movie yet, need to do that because I’ve heard it’s good!

        Like

  4. readerbuzz says

    What a fun idea! Wish I could participate, but I’ve got company coming in this weekend.

    Like

    • That’s a shame (about not being able to participate – not the family visiting!). It’s run a couple of times a year though so maybe you can sign up to the next one 🙂

      Like

  5. I’m really excited to follow your progress – I’m so impressed! There’s no way I’d be able to read that much. I don’t think I’m going to participate this year but I’ll definitely follow you along.

    Like

    • I had so much fun last time – it was great to connect with a bunch of other people participating. Even if you don’t hit the 24 hours, it’s nice just to dedicate the entire weekend to reading and not do any proper adult stuff! I’ll try to make my updates a little bit interesting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am SO excited for this! I don’t anticipate coming even close to your pages read… truth be told, I’m a pretty slow and distractible reader, but I am so thrilled to finally be able to set aside a few days for books again. Counting down the hours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m distracted easily too – last time I shut myself in my room, kept all electrical devices out of arms reach, and proceed to stuff my face. It helped A LOT.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

